George County : County Officials


Election Commissioners 2017

2020 Election Dates:


  • Sept. 21- Absentee ballots available
  • Oct. 05-  Voter Registration Deadline/Last day to register to vote
  • Nov. 03- Election Day (Polls open, 7 am to 7 pm)

The Election Commission is responsible for running the County's General and Special Elections.  Typical duties include:

  • Preparing and printing ballots
  • Hiring and training poll workers
  • Securing all supplies and prepare voting machines for election
  • Preparing poll books
  • Compiling precinct results on election day
  • Certifying election results
  • Providing election data to the public
  • Purging voter rolls in compliance with the National Voters Rights Act
  • Attending Election Conventions and training workshops.
 Joanie Taylor Joanie Evans
District 1

Caleb Howell
District 2

 Darlene Steede
District 3
 Matthew Lamb
District 4

Rebecca Berry
District 5